„Call me a nerd if you like, but I do find it hard to leave home without my laptop and a good book.“

—  Moby

As quoted in "I lost my heart in... New York", in The Guardian (13 May 2005) http://www.theguardian.com/travel/2005/may/14/lostmyheart.guardiansaturdaytravelsection

Moby photo
Moby3
1965

Citações relacionadas

Megan Fox photo

„I'm the biggest nerd - I love comic books and stuff like that!“

—  Megan Fox American actress 1986

Megan Fox: 'Biggest Nerd', likes comic books, men over girlfriends http://www.news.com.au/news/foxy-megan-biggest-nerd/story-fna7dq6e-1111117553949, 23 September 2008

„I have 5,000 books in my home, 1,000 of which I feel are close to my heart. They have always shown me the way. Books are my great passion; I could not live without them.“

—  Brunello Cucinelli Italian entrepreneur and philanthropist 1953

Fonte: A Day In the Life of Brunello Cucinelli https://www.harpersbazaar.com/fashion/designers/a17874/brunello-cucinelli-profile/ Harper's Bazaar, Lauren McCarthy, 15 September 2016

Bertolt Brecht photo

„Do not treat me in this fashion. Don't leave me out. Have I not
Always spoken the truth in my books?“

—  Bertolt Brecht German poet, playwright, theatre director 1898 - 1956

A response to the Nazi book burnings, in "To Posterity" (1939) as translated by H. R. Hays (1947)
Contexto: Do not treat me in this fashion. Don't leave me out. Have I not
Always spoken the truth in my books? And now
You treat me like a liar! I order you:
Burn me!
Those who lead the country into the abyss
Call ruling too difficult
For ordinary men.
Ah, what an age it is
When to speak of trees is almost a crime
For it is a kind of silence about injustice!

Jeanette Winterson photo
Douglas Coupland photo
Samuel Garth photo

„Hard was their lodging, homely was their food;
For all their luxury was doing good.“

—  Samuel Garth British writer 1661 - 1719

Claremont, line 148, reported in Bartlett's Familiar Quotations, 10th ed. (1919). Compare: "And learn the luxury of doing good", Oliver Goldsmith, The Traveller, line 22; George Crabbe, Tales of the Hall, book iii; "If to do were as easy as to know what were good to do, chapels had been churches, and poor men’s cottages princes’ palaces", William Shakespeare, The Merchant of Venice, Act i. Sc. 2.

Loreena McKennitt photo
Alain de Botton photo
Roberto Clemente photo

„I didn't like the trade. Santurce is close to my home town and I like the fans there. They good to me and cheer me all the time. I may not go back. I may work in Pittsburgh.“

—  Roberto Clemente Puerto Rican baseball player 1934 - 1972

Reacting to the sale of his erstwhile winter ball team, Santurce, and his subsequent trade to San Juan; as quoted in "Roberto Does Better When He's Ailing" https://news.google.com/newspapers?id=rEQjAAAAIBAJ&sjid=Ak4EAAAAIBAJ&pg=7048%2C256258 by Les Biederman, in The Pittsburgh Press (Saturday, March 2, 1957), p. 6
Baseball-related, <big><big>1950s</big></big>, <big>1957</big>

Pete Yorn photo
Harper Lee photo
Scott Adams photo

„These days it seems like any idiot with a laptop computer can churn out a business book and make a few bucks. That's certainly what I'm hoping.“

—  Scott Adams cartoonist, writer 1957

The Dilbert Principle (1995)
Contexto: These days it seems like any idiot with a laptop computer can churn out a business book and make a few bucks. That's certainly what I'm hoping. It would be a real letdown if the trend changed before this masterpiece goes to print.

Christopher Paolini photo

„I was gonna hide somewhere where nobody would find me and express myself entirely. I'm like a guerrilla warfare in my best books.“

—  Maurice Sendak American illustrator and writer of children's books 1928 - 2012

NOW interview (2004)
Contexto: I wasn't gonna paint. And I wasn't gonna do ostentatious drawings. I wasn't gonna have gallery pictures. I was gonna hide somewhere where nobody would find me and express myself entirely. I'm like a guerrilla warfare in my best books.

Nicholas Sparks photo

„Snail, snail, glister me forward,
Bird, soft-sigh me home,
Worm, be with me.
This is my hard time.“

—  Theodore Roethke American poet 1908 - 1963

"The Lost Son," ll. 8-11
The Lost Son and Other Poems (1948)
Contexto: I shook the softening chalk of my bones,
Saying,
Snail, snail, glister me forward,
Bird, soft-sigh me home,
Worm, be with me.
This is my hard time.

Frank Zappa photo

„I think it is good that books still exist, but they do make me sleepy.“

—  Frank Zappa American musician, songwriter, composer, and record and film producer 1940 - 1993

„Posthumous fame, book fame, nerd fame is not like the good kind of fame. It might last for centuries and let antique egg heads torture the young from the grave, but it just doesn't pay the bills.“

—  Laura Penny Canadian journalist 1975

Fonte: More Money than Brains (2010), Chapter Seven, If You're So Smart, Why Ain't You Rich?, p. 206 (See also: Henry David Thoreau, Karl Marx, James Joyce, Herman Mellville...)

„If Brideshead Revisited is not a great book, it's so like a great book that many of us, at least while reading it, find it hard to tell the difference.“

—  Clive James Australian author, critic, broadcaster, poet, translator and memoirist 1939 - 2019

'Borgias on my mind'
Essays and reviews, Glued to the Box (1983)

„Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Etiam egestas wisi a erat. Morbi imperdiet, mauris ac auctor dictum.“